Ways To Auto Delete Your Facebook Account After Death

0
498
Ways To Auto Delete Your Facebook Account After Death

 

The Facebook account of a person who has passed away can be memorialized after a request submitted by a verified person. However, Facebook also provides you with an option to auto-delete your Facebook account after it gets notified about your death.

Death is inevitable but all the living beings seem reluctant to face this hard truth of life. It is more painful for the close connections of a deceased person because it is hard to fill that vacant space in their lives. Nowadays, many people spend a large part of their lives on the internet, especially, on social platforms. The situation worsens when people come across the social media profiles of their loved ones or receive birthday notifications after they pass away.

Facebook is probably the most popular of all such platforms. It has appropriate options that allow a deceased person’s Facebook profile to be memorialized – the ones with Remembering written – after getting a request from a verified person.

A friend or a family member can either initiate,

  1. A memorialization request:
    https://www.facebook.com/help/contact/234739086860192
  2. An account deletion by a special request for a deceased person’s account:
    https://www.facebook.com/help/contact/228813257197480
    Note: A proof of death is required.

A person can select Legacy Contacts for their Facebook account. The legacy contact can do basic tasks – once the account has been memorialized – like writing a pinned post, respond to friend requests, and update the profile picture and cover photo. However, they can not log in to the memorialized account, change any other information, read chats with other friends, etc. If there is no Legacy Contact attached to an account, no one will be able to make any changes.

How to Auto-Delete Your Facebook account after your death?

Now, if you don’t want to keep your Facebook account alive after your death, you can get it deleted automatically after you pass away. Facebook has now got a new user interface so some options might defer from the older one. Here are the steps to do so:

  1. Sign in to your Facebook account.
  2. Click the down arrow in the top-right corner.
  3. Click Settings & Privacy in the drop-down menu. Then click on Settings.
  4. Click General on the left-hand side.
  5. Click Memorialization Settings.
    Delete Facebook Account After Death Process 1
  6. Click Request that your account be deleted after you pass away.
    Delete Facebook Account After Death Process 2
  7. Click Delete After Death.
    Delete Facebook Account After Death Process 3

Facebook will delete your account including all the data present in it after someone notifies them about your death.

If you have something to add, tell us in the comments below.

Facebook Comments Box
Previous articleBest Android Browsers To Enhance Your Web Browsing In 2021
Next articleFacebook Videos Views – How to See Facebook Videos Views | Facebook Live

Leave a Reply